Dragon*Con 2011 – Saturday

Parade goers + sad cars

Saturday morning we woke up a little later than planned. After quick showers (I said, “I’m not sure if I want to wash my hair. It’s gross, but I’m just going to shove it into a rib cage later.”), we checked out the crowd from our hotel (we stayed on the 50th floor of the Westin – oooh fancy).  We noticed a parking deck across from the Hard Rock & decided to watch the parade from there instead of battling the crowds at street level. At 9:45 a.m., we rolled out and were on the 5th floor of the parking deck with room to stretch out before the parade started at 10 a.m.

Play that one George Michael song!

Buddy!

Luna Dancing

 

Captain Janeway, my hero

If you ever get the chance to see Kate Mugrew speak, do it. I don’t care if you’ve never watched Star Trek: Voyager, it’s worth it. She is amazing, empowering, inspiring and my hero. This is the second time I’ve seen her and both times I cried my eyes out. I love her.

This is how a vampire eats a burrito.

For my Lorena costume, I found a black strapless dress at a thrift store and shortened it. With Toria’s help pinning & draping, I sewed the lace part as a seperate dress. It’s made of stretch lace (which I found for $1.99/yard!), the collar is made from leftovers when I trimmed the underdress. I bought short black gloves from Party City and sewed on the pearls. Earrings also from Party City. For the rib cage hat, I bought a skeleton from Michael’s, extracted the rib cage using a saw and pinned my hair in it. Fangs are the “small subtle fangs” from Scarecrow. They custom-fit to your teeth and are the best fangs on the market, short of getting True Blood’s fang-guy to design you a pair (and if I had known he would be at Dragon*Con, I probably would have done that). The belt is from a thrift store.

I’m pretty proud of this costume, especially since I think the dress is pretty and can be worn sans fangs and still be glamorous and pretty.

Dennis O'Hare (Russell Edgington) and Kristin Bauer (Pam) at the Sat. True Blood panel

Joe Manganiello (Alcide) & Charlaine Harris

Jim Parrack (Hoyt Fortenberry) & Joe

After the True Blood panel, we made, like, 75 balloon swords.

So many balloons

And then we walked to the Marriot and gave them to anyone who wanted them. They were all gone within 1 minute.

Deadpool balloon group

Totoro v. General Grievous

Dexter v. Grievous

Lorena + Totoro

Totoro + Sarah + Gareth + Lorena

Ooooh I found a Jessica!

OH YEAH

Disney Drag

Charlie Chaplin + Totoro

This is what it looks like when General Grievous breaks it down on the dance floor

Oh hey, Drag Batman

awww

Pictures from Sunday will include me as a Ravenclaw student & Bon Qui Qui. We’ll find Voldemort, Thor, Zombie Fast Food Mascots, Pee Wee Herman and a girl sitting on the floor texting.

Leave a Reply

