Fa la la la la la la la la

Not only is this my first Christmas living in the new house, it’s my first Christmas living with Benjamin, and the first year I’ve gotten a REAL tree since moving out of my mom’s house. (That’s 8 years of fake trees, y’all!) We didn’t decorate the outside of our house, but our living room is pretty darn festive.

Behind our beautiful tree, you will see one (of many) set of drapes that I made! Please ignore our hideous couch and focus on our lovely drapes and tree.

Proof that I’m not the only crafty person in the house: this discarded door room divider Benjamin created. I love it.

On the table, we’ve got Soccer Santa & the candy jar that plays Jingle Bell Rock every time you open it (from Andrea!). No candy sneaking in this house.

Benjamin found this mirror & table at thrift stores. Both were ugly but, we liked the shape of them, so Benjamin painted them! We plan on tiling them eventually, but they look great for now. I love the Santa hat & Reindeer antlers chilling with the rest of the hats. 🙂

I really, really love this tacky Santa nightlight. Andrea found it a few years ago for our Christmas party and it’s become an essential part of my Christmas decorating.

We don’t have a fireplace, so this is our “mantel”.  Now that I’m looking at the picture, I think we should put a shelf right under that (insanely adorable) picture. It would feel more “mantelish”.

I got my Christmas ornaments from my mom and was surprised to find I had a unicycle & a tricycle to go with Benjamin’s bike ornaments. I was not at all surprised by the abundance of cats.

I got this for Benjamin last year! Keep your eyes peeled for bike ornaments – I’d love to get him a few more.

My favourite of Benjamin’s ornaments. How ridiculous is this fish??

Most of my ornaments are ones my aunts and grandparents bought or made for me every year growing up. I love that they did this, because I have a pretty fun collection of ornaments now! I love how cute and creepy this gingerbread woman and broken-eared cat are.

I may have gone a little overboard with the gifts this year. I just had so much fun wrapping them!

3 thoughts on “Fa la la la la la la la la

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2011 |

Leave a Reply

