Audiobook Review: Neverwhere (Adaptation), by Neil Gaiman

Title: Neverwhere

Author: Neil Gaiman

Narrators: Christopher Lee, James McAvoy, Natalie Dormer, David Harewood, Sophie Okonedo, Benedict Cumberbatch, Anthony Head

Synopsis: Under the streets of London there’s a place most people could never even dream of. A city of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet. This is the city of the people who have fallen between the cracks.

Richard Mayhew, a young businessman, is going to find out more than enough about this other London. A single act of kindness catapults him out of his workday existence and into a world that is at once eerily familiar and utterly bizarre. And a strange destiny awaits him down here, beneath his native city: Neverwhere.

The story is written by Neil Gaiman. Look at that list of narrators. Where could you go wrong?
To start, this production doesn’t really feel like an audiobook to me. To me, an audiobook is someone reading me a story. When I listen to a standard audiobook, it feels like reading a book. I can often see the book and its words in my head as I listen.
This, though, was more like a television show or movie. The dramatization, the background noises all made it much more visual. In my head, I saw what was happening, not just the words. It was strange, but I liked it.
All of the narrators performers were perfectly suited to their roles. Richard, voiced by James McAvoy, and the Lady Door, voiced by Natalie Dormer, are the main characters in this, which worked out because I found their voices the most pleasant. I thought Richard was a bit slow to catch on and he sometimes annoyed me, but in away that actually made him seem more real and added to the story. I really liked Hunter as a character. She was complex, multifaceted, and interesting. I wanted more of her back story.
This was a great adaptation and I plan on watching the miniseries soon. If you like sci-fi/fantasy, listen to this. If you haven’t ever listened to audiobooks before, Neil Gaiman, in general, is a great place to start. All of his books lend well to the audio format. This one is an incredible interesting production. Gaiman often narrates his own titles and he, unlike most authors, makes a wonderful narrator, probably because he enjoys and understands the format well.
2 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Neverwhere (Adaptation), by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

