Product Review: Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel

Disclaimer: This product was provided to me by Influenster and Neutrogena to test and review. This does not affect my review.

So, I received this last Friday and have been using it twice daily since. With a week of use, I feel confident giving my opinion.

Description from Neutrogena: 

“Introducing Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel, a refreshing, lightweight water gel that instantly quenches and continuously hydrates skin. Formulated with hyaluronic acid, it boosts hydration and locks it in so skin stays hydrated, smooth and supple day after day. Applies effortlessly, absorbing quickly into skin without leaving behind an oily or greasy feel.

Hydro Boost hydrates skin through an approach of replenishing water and strengthening skin’s moisture barrier, leveraging two key ingredients:

Purified Hyaluronic Acid:
Naturally found in skin, in this formula, Purified Hyaluronic Acid helps deliver a boost of hydration. It also acts like a sponge for dry skin cells, absorbing up to 1000 times its weight in water and progressively releases moisture back into skin, keeping skin hydrated and supple throughout the day.

Olive Extract:
Known for its moisturizing and nutrient rich qualities, it is a complex combination for fatty acids, which is similar to skin’s natural moisture shield. In this formula, it helps strengthen the skin’s moisture barrier, helping protect the skin from excessive moisture loss. It also helps leave skin feeling soft and smooth without tackiness.”

IMG_1593

The Good: Most importantly, it does what it says it does. My skin feels more moisturized and has a bit of a glow to it. I already use an eye cream with hyaluronic acid and know that it’s one of those active ingredients that I like. I didn’t find the formula to be irritating or clogging at all. Actually, I think my skin looks more clear than usual. The Neutrogena gel texture is like a thin lotion. Not heavy, but not too watery either. It was wearable under make-up – and under sunscreen. I just added it into my routine, rather than replacing something with it, and it seems a good complement.

The bad: The ingredients include blue dye and a fragrance. I’m not a fan of either of those in my skincare.

The ugly: Neutrogena products are not cruelty free, so I won’t be buying this one in the future, but I’ll be looking for something similar that is not tested on animals.

Pictures: 

Here’s my skin with just the hydro boost gel on. Sleepy eyes, but my skin looks pretty bright!

IMG_1589

And all made-up. IMG_1594

Leave a Reply

