Audiobook Review: Magonia

Magonia
Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Narrator: Therese Plummer & Michael Crouch
Where I Got It: ListenUp
Audible | Amazon | GoodReads

Synopsis: Aza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong.

— I’m cutting the synopsis off here. I went into reading this without reading anything about it and I’m thankful for it. Just trust me, read it.

Review: 

This book is not like anything I’ve ever read. The closest comparison I can come up with is The Wizard of Oz. I’ve read others say it’s a combination of The Fault in Our Stars and Stardust, which is accurate and in all the right ways. My review of the story is being cut short because I want you to read it without being totally spoiled.

I picked it up because, after listening to Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, I wanted to listen to Michael Crouch more. In Magonia, he was a wonderful narrator again, but Therese Plummer really stole the show. Her narration was phenomenal. Her character voices were perfectly crafted and her voice expressed emotion and Aza’s inability to breathe. This audiobook definitely convinced me that I need to listen to more of her work, like immediately.

4 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Magonia

Leave a Reply

