Goodbye, 2015.

In 2014, I changed jobs, graduated graduate school, and moved to a new home. In comparison, 2015 was much more stable, though not without its own changes and happenings. The biggest, of course, was the surprising status update from “in a relationship” to “engaged”.

I was a bit better about keeping this blog updated, especially in regards to my book life. I wanted to read a book for each week in 2015. I didn’t quite get to 52 books for the year – 34 total – but there are some novellas and short stories that I didn’t track on GoodReads, so the total is probably closer to 40 or 45 if we count those. I aspired to write reviews for all the books I’ve read, and maybe, eventually, I’ll get to those.

Of what I read this year, these are my favourites. –

I didn’t get to add a new stamp to my passport this year, but I traveled quite a bit in the spring – NYC in March for a friend’s birthday surprise, Miami in May (where Benjamin proposed), back to NYC at the end of May for Book Expo America. I spent more time on planes in those few months than I have in years – I don’t do a lot of plane travel, historically. Since the Spring, we’ve mostly been at home. I spent a weekend in Blue Ridge for a friend’s bachelor party where I got to hang out with two goats. We stayed another weekend in Dahlonega for my brother’s wedding. Earlier this month, we drove to Cincinnati for Christmastime with family.

 

After the stress of my thesis, going full-time, and all the rest of 2014’s turmoil, I started 2015 at the highest weight I’d ever been. I did not take good progress pictures, but trust me, I’ve progressed. Over the holidays, I’ve gained back some of my lost weight, but I’m still 7 pounds lighter now than at the beginning of the year. Which doesn’t sound like a lot, but I’ve added muscle and I’m short. Bust is 2″ smaller, waist is 3″ smaller, abdomen/love handle area is at least 1.5″ smaller (but I didn’t start measuring that until later in the year), and my butt is 1.5″ bigger.

opsq91o

Here’s 2014’s super fat Christmas tree and a little more fat Holly

And here’s this year’s less fat Christmas tree and less fat Holly

Our tree isn't quite as fat this year 😕 but neither am I 😌 🎄🎄🎄 (🍌 for scale)

A post shared by Holly Bryant-Simpson (@hollishter) on

Benjamin put us on a budget and, if we ignore December, I’ve done a good job of sticking to it. I’m still not organized, but I’m improving. I’ve been drinking more water, but not enough. I’m better at meal planning and prepping, but I have much to learn (if you have vegetarian/pescatarian friendly freezer meal recipes, holla).

Overall, I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished in 2015. It’s been a good year. 2016 is going to be even better.

 

Leave a Reply

